Log in

E2Tech Elects Three New and Reinstates Seven Existing Board Members (December 2017)

Monday, December 04, 2017 3:32 PM | Anonymous

E2Tech approved term extensions for seven of its 24-Member Board of Directors and elected three new Members at its November 16, 2017 Annual Meeting during the Expo in Portland. The ten Directors’ experiences are diverse and span the electricity, energy law, wind and solar, construction, project management, hydrokinetics, data security, and environmental law and consulting fields in Maine. We are excited to welcome (and welcome back) all of these dedicated individuals as a vital part of our organization!

New E2Tech Board Members

Laney Brown – Vice President, Concentric Energy Advisors
At Concentric Energy Advisors, Laney works with clients to provide guidance and strategy on the changing energy industry. She is an expert in distributed generation, smart grids, and regulatory policy and is a member of NY State Energy R&D Agency’s Grid Modernization Advisory Committee and the US Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Committee. 

Sarah Tracy – Partner, Pierce Atwood (Chair, Program Committee)
Sarah’s practice focuses primarily on electric and natural gas proceedings before state and federal entities, including state public utility commissions and state and federal courts. Sarah also negotiates and drafts agreements for the purchase of electric energy, capacity and renewable energy credits, as well as long-term contracts for natural gas supply and distribution service.

Paul Williamson – Development Manager, Apex Clean Energy
Paul manages Apex Clean Energy’s wind and solar energy generation projects in Maine through Downeast Wind. Apex Clean Energy has more than 60 projects in development in 20 states in addition to seven operational wind farms. 

Returning Board Members

Chad Allen – Senior Project Engineer, Cianbro 
Chad’s work at Cianbro includes supporting the growth of wind energy, biomass, and conventional power generation in the Northeast. 

David Ertz – Senior Consultant, DBE Consulting 
David provides construction, contract, and project management expertise to renewable energy projects. 

John Ferland – President and Chief Operating Officer, Ocean Renewable Power Company (Board Secretary & Chair, Strategic Planning Committee)
John leads ORPC’s project development, environmental permitting, and project licensing activities. He has over 30 years of experience in commercialization strategy for renewable energy companies, coastal resource management, and public policy. 

Jim Katsiaficas – Director, Perkins Thompson 
Jim advises public and private clients in the areas of municipal, land use, zoning and planning, environmental, and administrative law. His environmental work has included waste-to-energy facility, and water and sewer district representation; municipal landfill, uncontrolled hazardous substance site, and Superfund site closures; and the establishment of the governance structure for and representation of the Long Creek Watershed Management District. 

Becky Metivier – Marketing Manager, Sage Data Security (Chair, Marketing & Membership Committee)
Becky has provided marketing services for several local Maine environmental companies before joining Sage Data Security as their marketing manager. 

Jeffrey Thaler – Professor of Energy Policy, Law & Ethics, Assistant University Council, University of Maine
Jeff is the University of Maine’s first Visiting Professor of Energy Policy, Law & Ethics and also serves as Assistant University Counsel for environmental, energy, and sustainability projects and initiatives. He has been permitting counsel for on- and off-shore wind projects, hydro power, and wood-to-biofuel facilities. 

Sarah Watts – Managing Environmental Scientist and Operations Manager, Tetra Tech
Sarah has worked professionally in Maine as an environmental consultant since 2000. At Tetra Tech, Sarah oversees a group of 20 biologists, natural resource scientists, and planners, who primarily support project work in renewable and conventional energy generation and transmission. 

The Environmental & Energy Technology Council of Maine (E2Tech) is the state’s only energy, environmental, and clean technology business and economic development organization. E2Tech is a catalyst, a change agent, and a resource center that strives to promote Maine companies, support their robust and sustainable acceleration, and help them compete in national and global markets. E2Tech members include electric utilities and renewable energy companies, manufacturers, environmental engineers, emerging entrepreneurs, innovators and designers, as well as government agencies, educational institutions, and non-profits. For more information, please visit

E2Tech: Environmental & Energy Technology Council of Maine

Find E2Tech:

ThinkTank Coworking, Pepperell Center
40 Main St, Biddeford ME 04005
07.423.8260   //

Mail E2Tech:

P.O. Box 8517  Portland, ME 04104

© E2Tech, Environmental & Energy Technology Council of Maine. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software